Who we Are

Our Purpose

Recognising the importance of voluntary organisations as a main pillar within society and the economy, the ultimate mission of the Commissioner’s office is to enable this socio-economic pillar of our country so they can deliver the social, civil, and community benefits. 

As the main regulatory body of the sector, the Commissioner’s office encourages and enforces the governance of the voluntary organisations and their activities to strengthen and protect the function of voluntarism directed towards the achievement of the ultimate greater and common good.

Our History

The Office of the Commissioner for Voluntary Organizations was set up by the Voluntary Organizations Act 2007 with the task to strengthen the voluntary sector through various initiatives with the specific aim of promoting the work of VOs as well as encouraging their role as partners with the government in various initiatives. Cap. 23 of 2007 Voluntary Organizations Act came into force in November 2007 Prof. Kenneth Wain was the first Commissioner for Voluntary Organizations over the period 2007-2018. The second Commissioner for Voluntary Organizations was Dr. Anthony J. Abela Medici. He served the office in his position over the period 2018-2021.  The office of the Commissioner for Voluntary Organizations is now under the helm of Mr. Jesmond Saliba who was appointed as the Third Commissioner for Voluntary Organizations in 2021.

Our Value